What is the Protect California Drivers Act?
What is the Protect California Drivers Act? California insurance minimums have not been changed since 1967. This often leaves victims of car accidents with considerable debt due to insufficient coverage. When the insurance minimums were introduced 55 years ago, the average price of a car was nearly $5,000 and a house was approximately $22,700. The current minimum liability insurance requirements (per California Insurance Code §11580.1b) are $15,000 for injury/death to one person; $30,000 for injury/death to more than one person; and $5,000 for damage to property. The amounts established in 1967 are typically not sufficient enough to cover today's cost of...Continue reading